Destroyer announce new album, 'Ken'

Destroyer announce new album, 'Ken'

Canadian band Destroyer return with new album, Ken and have also released a lyric video for their latest single, Sky's Grey - an emotive ballad which showcases the band's experimental inclinations.

Josh Wells, Destroyer's current drummer and member of Black Mountain, has produced the record in a studio that the band calls 'The Balloon Factory'. Unlike Poison Season, Ken wasn't recorded with collective continuity but had members making sporadic contributions.

Dan Bejar stated about his new album: "Sometime last year, I discovered that the original name for 'The Wild Ones' (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was 'Ken'. I had an epiphany, I was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, I decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for my own purposes. It's unclear to me what that purpose is, or what the connection is. I was not thinking about Suede when making this record. I was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe 'The Wild Ones' speaks to that feeling, probably why Suede made no sense in America. I think "ken" also means 'to know'.

Track Listing

1. Sky's Grey

2. In the Morning

3. Tinseltown Swimming in Blood

4. Cover From the Sun

5. Saw You at the Hospital

6. A Light Travels Down the Catwalk

7. Rome

8. Sometimes In the World

9. Ivory Coast

10. Stay Lost

11. La Regle du Jeu



Nov 30 Brighton, UK — Patterns

Dec 01 Leeds, UK — Brudenell Social Club

Dec 03 Dublin, IE — Button Factory

Dec 05 Glasgow, UK — CCA (270)

Dec 06 Newcastle, UK — The Cluny

Dec 07 London, UK — Scala

Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band announce new album, 'Adiós Señor Pussycat'

Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band announce new album, 'Adiós Señor Pussycat'

Super Furry Animals perform in 360 degrees

Super Furry Animals perform in 360 degrees