Charlotte Gainsbourg announces new album, 'Rest'

Charlotte Gainsbourg announces new album, 'Rest'

French singer and actress Charlotte Gainsbourg has announced the release of her new album, 'Rest.'

Set for release this November, 'Rest' sees Gainsbourg collaborate with producer and DJ Sebastian, Connan Mockasin, former Arcade Fire touring member Owen Pallett, and the legendary Sir Paul McCartney. The album is mixed by Tom Elmhirst, known for his work with Adele and David Bowie.

Addressing personal topics, ranging from the death of her father, Serge Gainsbourg, and more recently sister Kate Barry, to the tensions between her shyness and her life as a performer and public figure, to charmingly illogical childhood fears, the eleven tracks on ‘Rest’ offer compelling fusions of gleaming, string-emblazoned modern electro-pop and cinematically textured avant-chanson.

The album's title track has also been shared in anticipation of the release. Co-written and composed by Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo of Daft Punk, 'Rest' is a luscious, hushed track, with Gainsbourg singing in French, barely breaking from a whisper over two melancholy interweaving keyboard lines.

Having previously written with Jarvis Cocker and Beck, ‘Rest’ is the first album where Gainsbourg penned all lyrics herself. Feeling daunted by the desire to flesh out her ideas, deliverance would arrive initially courtesy of Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, steering her toward a forensically focused approach to lyric writing.

Gainsbourg explained: “I came in with all my bunches of lyrics… It was too much, really, and Guy-Man was saying, ‘You can’t say all that, you have to simplify it,’ and he reduced it to three words! It felt so innocent in a way, but it was exactly what I needed at that time”.

The album opens with the nursery rhyme enchantment of ‘Ring a Ring a Roses’, a hazy mosaic of nostalgic childhood snapshots – the verses delivered in intimately captured French, the instantly infectious chorus, ends with the electro-disco-flavoured ‘Les Oxalis’.

Another track, ‘Songbird in a Cage’, was penned for Gainsbourg by Sir Paul McCartney.

She says of their collaboration: “We had a very nice lunch about six-and-a-half years ago”, she recalls. “I couldn’t believe that I was actually sitting next to him. I told him that if he ever had a song for me it would be a dream come true. A few weeks later he sent this track. It was a demo. I didn’t know what to do with it, because I wanted it to be part of the album. We had to reinvent it. Paul very sweetly came to Electric Lady. He did a bit of piano, some bass, a bit of guitar. It was incredible, just to see him work”.

A music video for the title track has also been released. Although directed by Gainsbourg herself, she originally called on friend and frequent collaborator Lars von Trier for assistance:

“I needed a push and Lars was there to help. At first, I asked him if he would direct the video for me. He answered, ‘No… you should do it!’ Understanding what I required, he instructed ‘I will tell you exactly what you must do’ and precisely dictated ‘the rules’ which I had to follow. I nodded throughout our phone conversation while writing down the master’s principles. And that was it - the initial push I needed to go out and use the camera myself."

The official music video for Charlotte Gainsbourg's 'Rest' is available to watch exclusively on Apple Music.

‘Rest’ is released on 17th November via Because Music.

‘Rest’ Track Listing -

  1. Ring A Ring O' Roses
  2. Lying With You
  3. Kate
  4. Deadly Valentine
  5. I'm A Lie
  6. Rest
  7. Sylvia Says
  8. Songbird In A Cage
  9. Les Traits
  10. Les Crocodiles
  11. Les Oxalis



Princess Nokia releases '1992' deluxe edition

Princess Nokia releases '1992' deluxe edition

Reverend Billy and the Stop Shopping Choir announce UK return

Reverend Billy and the Stop Shopping Choir announce UK return