Sunflower Bean announce new album Twentytwo In Blue

Sunflower Bean announce new album Twentytwo In Blue

New York trio Sunflower Bean announce their second record Twentytwo in Blue. The album will be released on 23 March, when all members of the band will be 22 years old. The album comes almost two years and two months after the release of their critically acclaimed 2016 debut album Human Ceremony. 

The album is co-produced by Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Jacob Portrait, who also mixed the record, and HC-producer Matt Molnar of Friends. 

Twentytwo in Blue shows Sunflower Bean staying true to their classic-rock guitar band core, while exploring new sonic textures. Unlike their debut record, essentially a compilation of songs Sunflower Bean wrote while still in their teens, Twentytwo in Blue was made between December 2016 and December 2017 and showcases how far the band has come since their high school days.

To celebrate the album announcement, Sunflower Bean share a new single entitled Crisis Fest. It can be found on most major streaming and download services; with a video exclusive to Apple Music, directed by Andy DeLuca.

“This last year was extremely alarming, traumatic, and politically volatile,” explains the band about the new track.

“While writing this album, we often reflected back on the people we met while on tour. We felt a strong kinship with the audiences that came to see us all over the country, and we wanted to write a song for them - something to capture the anxieties of an uncertain future. Crisis Fest is less about politics and more about the power of us, the young people"

“This has been such an unbelievable time,” says guitarist and singer Nick Kivlen.

“I can’t imagine any artist of our ilk making a record and not have it be seen through the lens of the political climate of 2016 and 2017. So I think there’s a few songs on the record that are definitely heavily influenced by this sort of—whatever you want to say what the Trump administration has been.”

“A shit show,” offers drummer Jacob Faber. 

“I think one word that always comes to mind when I think about this record is lovable,” says frontwoman, singer and bassist Julia Cumming.

“We want the songs to be something that someone can get attached to, and have be a part of them. Because that’s what I look for in songs myself, and that’s the kind of experience we want to give to others.”

SunflowerBean- coverr.jpeg

Tracklist for the album: 
1. Burn It
2. I Was a Fool
3. Twentytwo
4. Crisis Fest
5. Memoria
6. Puppet Strings
7. Only A Moment
8. Human For
9. Any Way You Like
10. Sinking Sands
11. Oh No, Bye Bye

Announced UK tour dates:
22/2 - London, UK @ The Jazz Cafe
24/3 - Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
26/3 - Norwich, UK @ Open Norwich
27/3 - Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds
28/3 - Newcastle upon Tyne, UK @ Riverside
29/3 - Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe
30/3 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
31/3 - Liverpool, UK @ The Magnet
01/4 - Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
03/4 - Bristol, UK @ Thekla
05/4 - Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
06/4 - London, UK @ Koko

Sunflower Bean's Twentytwo In Blue will be released on 23 March through Lucky Number.

Press Photo Credit: Hollie Fernando

Gwenno shares new single, Tir Ha Mor

Gwenno shares new single, Tir Ha Mor

Shopping shares new single and video, Wild Child

Shopping shares new single and video, Wild Child